So long, farewell…

Today was the last “real” day of class. Tomorrow final exams start, and my students, mostly seniors, will fly away like dandelion seeds after that. Today they signed yearbooks and turned in their final projects. During exams, they will present their projects. Then it’s graduation. Then they’re gone.

It’s the beginning of the end, and it’s bittersweet. This is the last group of kids I coached on the soccer team, the last class that I taught for freshman biology, and then taught many of them a second time in AP Biology. I have lots of special memories with them, and so I’m a little weepier than usual.

At the same time, I’m already planning for next year. Rewriting study guides, reorganizing topics, tweaking the syllabus. While I had a great year this year, there is plenty of room for improvement. Next year’s kids deserve the best out of me, and I need to start planning for them.

But the warm fuzzies I had today, the last real day of school for the class of 2015, I’m not sure I’ll have those again.

I love my job.

Leave a Reply

